When I Saw Michael Sam Kiss His White Boyfriend, I Didn’t Know What To Think

Thought Catalog

Mixed emotions. If I’m being completely honest, that is how I felt when I saw Michael Sam kissing his boyfriend. The crazy part of it all is that it’s not the actual kiss that caused me to roll my eyes, but the fact that Michael Sam’s boyfriend is white. Ouch!

It’s disturbing in 2014, and even after all of my years of formal education, that I felt this way initially. I’m still trying to make sense of it all, and I guess that’s why I decided to write this article. Some might call me a racist or homophobic, but what matters most to me is identifying what caused me to feel both excitement and trepidation during this historic moment for the NFL, the LGBT community, and essentially all of America.

I attribute my initial hesitation to two main things: culture and the portrayal of black couples in Hollywood.

[tc-related post=”331350″…

View original post 760 more words

Leave a Reply

