The Eccentric Collection

For all you wackadoos who love weird-ass movies, I’ve compiled a list of my favorites.

 

Amélie

So, little Amelie, your bones aren’t made of glass. You can take life’s knocks. If you let this chance go by, eventually your heart will become as dry and brittle as my skeleton. So… Go and get him, for pete’s sake!

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

My crotch is still here, just as you remembered it.

 

 

Cloud Atlas

I  believe death is only a door, when it closes, another opens. If I care to imagine heaven. I would imagine a door opening. And behind it, I would find him there, waiting for me.

Scott Pilgrim VS the World

Scott, if your life had a face, I would punch it.

Daydream Nation

Caroline: If you have the audacity… the… inaccuracy… to describe me as “ethereal,” as some flawless, perfect thing, then fuck you.

Barry: Wha—

Caroline: No, fuck you. You don’t know anything about me. The only reason you think I am ethereal is because all we do is have sex and flirt and have sex.

Barry: There is more to you than that.

Caroline: I know that! I know! But I’m not here to save you. I’m the main character of my life!

A Beautiful Life

If I die tomorrow, I’ll have no regrets because I have seen you.

Juno

Vanessa: Your parents are probably wondering where you are.

Juno: Nah… I mean, I’m already pregnant, so what other kind of shenanigans could I get into?

Electrick Children

 I accelerate down a road I have not yet traversed. I travel beyond the red walls of a home I can not again call my home.

Big Fish

It occurred to me then, that perhaps the reason for my growth was I was intended for larger things. After all, a giant man can’t have an ordinary-sized life.

Safety Not Guaranteed

Kenneth: To go it alone, or to go with a partner. When you choose a partner, you have to have compromises and sacrifices, but it’s the price you pay. Do I want to follow my every whim and desire as I make my way through time and space? Absolutely. But at the end of the day, do I need someone when I’m doubting myself and I’m insecure, and *my* heart’s failing me? Do I need someone who, when the heat gets hot, has my back?

Darius: So, do you?

Kenneth: I do.

Stranger Than Fiction

 This might not mean anything to you, but I think I’m in a tragedy.

Timer

 If I’m a pussy, I’m about to have the best lesbian sex of my life in there.

Innerspace

 We’re gonna drink this one to Ozzie. A good man who tried to save my ass by injecting me into yours.

Ghostbusters 

Dana Barrett: I want you inside me.

Dr. Peter Venkman: It sounds like you’ve got at least two or three people in there already.

Heathers

Our love is God, let’s go get a Slushie.

Edward Scissorhands

Why are you hiding back there? You don’t have to hide from me – I’m Peg Boggs, your local Avon representative and I’m as harmless as cherry pie…

Young Frankenstein

Frankenstein: STAND BACK, FOR THE LOVE OF GOD! HE’S GOT A ROTTEN BRAIN!

Frau Blücher: It’s not rotten! It’s a good brain!

Frankenstein: IT’S ROTTEN, I TELL YOU! ROTTEN!

The Monster: [lunging at Dr. Frankenstein] RRAAAAAAAA!

Igor: Ixnay on the ottenray.

 

Fantastic Mr. Fox

Mole: I just want to see… a little sunshine.

Mr. Fox: But you’re nocturnal, Phil. Your eyes barely open on a good day.

Mole: I’m sick of your double talk, we have rights!

Mary and Max

 [Cigarette] butts are bad because they wash out to sea, and fish smoke them and become nicotine-dependent.

Dummy

Steven, you drive like my fucking grandma! Wait… that’s actually an insult because my grandma drives better than you do!

Spork

 

1 thought on “The Eccentric Collection”

  1. […] I’ve always admired the cinematically odd when it comes to the film industry, and it may come as no surprise that I am watching more and more of them due to my brother’s Netflix subscription and my own procrastination. There is something to be said about weird-ass movies, and just how brilliantly they portray the confusion, the intricacy, and at times the futility of life. This review is part of The Eclectic Collection. […]

Leave a Reply

